transit strike=bad, bad idea

Other than the shitty strike continuing (grr!), things are going fine. Saturday night Anna and I went out dancing, which was really fun. We were supposed to be meeting the German assistant from her school, but she never showed. So instead Anna and I fought off the creepy men who seriously would not leave us alone all by ourselves. We danced to hip hop, funk, and even some Motown at Alimentation Generale. I slept over at Anna's which meant yummy brunch with her roommates Sunday morning. I had three crepes! Mmmm.

Having had a minor panic attack on my way to Anna's house Saturday night (it was so crowded, and I'm so short, that I literally couldn't breathe, and had to shove the man blocking my face with all my strength to avoid freaking the fuck out) I did not plan on leaving my house once I got home. It was a dismally grey and rainy day anyway, so I just watched Roman Holiday on my computer and then did laundry. A perfect lazy Sunday.

Yesterday was a very productive day, as I went to the tax office to change my address, returned something at the FNAC, dropped off and picked up mail at Michel's office, ate a panini in the Luxembourg, and stopped by the bookstore. I then went to the movies (In the Valley of Elah=really depressing but good), and made my new favorite pasta dish at home. I made a sauce of creme fraiche, smoked ham, peas, emmental cheese, and a bit of milk and it's really, really delicious.

This morning I was off to the Department de Travail's foreigner department, to find out what I need to do to get a working permit for the bookstore. I'm in a holding pattern until I get my recipisse, which is the proof that I'm waiting for a Carte de Sejour. I could get the recipisse tomorrow or in a month. There's no way to know, and I doubt the store can hold the position for me as they need someone soon. So this kind of sucks. It may still all work out, but I kind of doubt it. Pooh.

I have eight hours of class tomorrow and Thursday, which means it's time for Thanksgiving hand turkeys! Oh, yeah. And then I like to torture the kids by making them tell me one thing they're thankful for. After a quick discussion of sweet potatoes and pumpkin pie, I think that'll take up the whole class!

My sister is taking our parents and her boyfriend to an inn for Thanksgiving, and I'm really jealous and wish I were there. Luckily I'm invited to two Thanksgiving dinners this year: one at Lisa's Thursday night, and one at Anna's Saturday. I could not be more excited for stuffing and pumpkin pie. Anna loves me, so she'll make a lot of stuffing. Although I've volunteered as sous chef, so I can have some say in it, too! I'll be chopping and peeling all day, I'm sure.

Okay, time for me to go babysit Lisa's kids, Margaux and Adrien. They are so cute.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to transit strike=bad, bad idea

  1. drdave says:

    Glad to hear that your problems have been brought from "No internet + sick + sleazy telco employees + transit strike" down to one… Things seem to be improving in a major way 🙂

  2. Joey Petts says:

    Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Thanks a lot!

Leave a comment